What Are the Different Types of Headstones?

What Are the Different Types of Headstones?

March 14, 2022

When a family member or a loved one passes on, ensuring that the burial arrangements are noble is vital. Choosing the appropriate headstone is more critical as it acts as the permanent memory of the diseased. 

What is a headstone?

 A headstone, also known as tombstone, gravestone, monument, or grave marker, is a stone slab, usually made from marble or granite fixed at the head of somebody’s grave. It typically has the deceased’s date of birth, date of death inscribed, and name. A headstone also often contains epitaphs, poems, artwork, family members’ names, etc. 

What are the different types of headstones­ for graves?

There are several types of headstones. The following are some commonly used types of gravestones. 

  • Upright Headstones: Of all different types of headstones for graves, upright gravestones are the most traditional designs and comprise two parts: the base and the tablet or die. The tablet is the slab that rests on the base top and bears the deceased’s information. These headstones usually contain a single or two individuals’ information. The die for a traditional upright gravestone is vertical both at the back and front. The most prevalent top is the serpentine top, though other standard top finishes include oval top, rooftop, corner rounds, and flat top. 
  • Slant headstone: Slant gravestones are very much related to upright tombstones. Nonetheless, Slant gravestones are vertical at the back and slanted in the front, making the die’s base wider. Thus, a base isn’t necessary on slant headstones to ensure sturdy. Nevertheless, slant headstones bases are still much preferred. Slant gravestones can be prepared for one individual or two individuals.
  • Flat Headstones and Bevel Headstones: These tombstones are level with the ground, as the name suggests. The flat gravestone can either utterly level with the ground or be raised one to four inches from the ground. Flat headstones are usually rectangle in shape and four inches thick. On the other hand, a bevel tombstone is slightly raised at the back, giving it a slight slope. Bevel tombstones are thicker than flat ones. 
  • Bench Headstones: These are both as grave markers and in public places. They provide a pleasant place to rest and reflect the beautiful surroundings and loved ones. Bench headstones vary in length; however, the standard sizes are 36 inches, 48 inches, and 60 inches. 
  • Wing Headstones: Wing gravestones comprise a base die or tablets separated by a plinth or pedestal supporting a vase. The pedestal displays the family’s name, while the tablets display the individual’s name. 
  • Children’s Headstones: Celebrating the brief life of a child or an infant is not easy. There is a wide range of tombstone designs such as musical instruments, toys, teddy bears, angels, etc. Children’s gravestones often range from flat to shaped like blocks, animals, or toys. 

All in all, gravestones can be custom-made to mark the diseased grave site or burial plot. 

In conclusion, the different types of headstones for graves are:

  • Slant Headstones
  • Upright Headstones
  • Bench Headstones
  • Flat & Bevel Headstones
  • Children Headstones
  • Wing Headstones


Categorised in: